The Conference of Deception, Chapter 19-20

Gunag is being sent to Chatsrey. Laerdya and Cillia arrive at the Findely summer house.

Chapter 19.

House Aravaris

“Telegram!”

Derry took the telegram from the smiling Jilly and opened it. Looking at it, he said, “Where is Gunag?”

“He should be at his desk. What’s going on?”

“The admiral wants him to prepare his presentation for the Secretary and fly it down to Chatsrey. I need to find him.”

Gunag looked at Derry and said, “You look as if you have something for me.”

“Here.” Derry handed Gunag the telegram.”

“The admiral is coming back later today and wants me to prepare my proposal and then take it to the Secretary. He wants me and Shelara to port down and catch the plane to Chatsrey.”

“That is sort of sudden.”

“He doesn’t explain, but he mentions that the Global Economic Forum is starting in four days. I think that the admiral has been talking to my dad.”

“Since the admiral wants you to get your presentation ready, why don’t you take me through the building and introduce me around.”

“Let’s do that.”

Chapter 20.

Rillington.

Artur looked up from his newspaper as Lirial came into his office. “I sent Horag to pick up Cillia and the girl.”

“They could have stayed in Chatsrey.”

“I do not want my daughter, or any other girl, for that matter, anywhere near those grabby things at the conference. We can go and the girls can stay here.”

“It isn’t that bad.”

“You are a man and somebody that people want to influence. They would hardly molest you. I hear the car.”

Cillia’s voice rang through the house, “We’re here!”

She came in with a shy elvish looking girl and said, “I brought Bennie’s prize. This is Laerdya Silver, who was dropped into an Imperial wedding with a bomb strapped to her back by an evil and sick lady. Fortunately, Bennie went to see an elephant and found Laerdya. I don’t know how he managed, but he kept things calm until the Justiciars could remove the bomb. Then he did something crazy, purchased Laerdya with money he was saving for that fine and sent her to us, which wasn’t that crazy.”

“Did you have any problems in Chatsrey,” Lirial asked.

“If you are referring to any Economic Forum issues, we checked out as the first bunch was checking in. We did have to speak with Mrs. Steelmaker, but the admiral and I kept her in check. So Laerdya wasn’t too pressed.”

“How old are you, Laerdya?” Lirial asked.

“I am sixteen. My birthday is on the end of Yellowleaf.”

“Where are you from?”

“We called it the Village. I don’t know where it is in the world. The lady pulled us into Jump and dropped us at Lord Umevan’s wedding with those things strapped to our backs. I was supposed to pull the cord when Lord Umevan and his bride came to the elephant cart. The Justiciars arranged to have him flown away in a strange thing instead, so I didn’t know what to do. Bennie came, talked with me and kept me calm, so I didn’t think about the cord. Then the Justiciars tore the thing off my back. But it was Bennie that saved me.”

“You don’t have to wear a collar,”Artur said. “There is no slavery in the Republic.”

“I want to. I want to wear it so that people know who I belong to and so Bennie doesn’t forget. I know he thinks of me as too young for some things, but he was the one that was there for me when I needed somebody.”

Artur laughed. “Cillia obviously likes you already, so I think that we are stuck with you.”

“Cillia and I had a wonderful time in the city. Unfortunately we had to leave.”

“Now Laerdya and I need to get her settled, so we will see you later,” Cillia said.

She dragged Laerdya back out of the parlor as Artur laughed. “Cillia has always wanted a sister.”

“I better keep an eye on them before things get out of control.” Lirial said.

“I think that Bennie is in trouble and we are very lucky.”

“We don’t know who her family is.”

“I’ll talk to Al and see what he says. From the sounds of it, I will be surprised if Laerdya’s family isn’t looking for her. Somehow, I don’t think that they will disappoint us.”

Leave a comment