A Search for Life, A Quest for Power, Chapter 77-78

“A Beinan dragon and an elf lady getting together? I didn’t know that there were Beinan dragons.”

Chapter 77.

Nytfnas

Greg looked the rather odd pair, turned to Tarranth and said, “Who are those two?”

“Enniog Beinan and Ciliren Phivyre. They met each other working on some of the Darkmage’s devises. The wedding is later this year.”

“A Beinan dragon and an elf lady getting together? I didn’t know that there were Beinan dragons.”

“Enniog is from the Fellowship, and Cillie is from the Imperial Archive village. They have been recording and looking up what these devises do. Did you bring what you found?”

“I have pictures. We haven’t gone through the library as yet as deeply as we want to.”

“Show us what you have,” Cillie said. “We’ve become pretty good at knowing what to look for in the archives if we have something to start with. A lot of these things are so Proscribed that you need actual document numbers or they don’t exist. That was how it was with Scourge devises.”

“Ok, here is what we have so far.”

Chapter 78.

The Valberos Estate

Zentha and Estelar watched the small caravan drive up to the estate, the boys in the driver’s seats. They parked the car and the GP. A grinning Gunag and Shelara got out with the boys. Estelar walked over and said, “How did it go?”

“Well. I have lot of pictures and we didn’t have any real trouble. The trucks are right behind us.”

“You stayed with them?”

“More or less. I didn’t want anything getting lost again.”

“Now that you are here, there is somebody that I want you and Shelara to meet.”

“Your teacher.”

“Yes. Let’s take you to Mazie.”

“Have the books and the rest arrived?”

“Not as yet. Dorag sent that they are on the way.”

“They shouldn’t be pirated this time.”

“I hope not.”

Estelar and Zentha took Gunag and Shelara through the house and to a small cottage where a young half elf girl wearing a collar was taking a meal. She turned and said, “I’m sorry, master, but I have my hands full.”

“That is quite all right, Misti. Is that for your grandmother?”

“It is. I can hold her lunch until after your visit.”

“This is Gunag and Shelara. You go ahead and take the lunch. We will join you.”

They entered the cottage and the very old woman inside said, “Misti, you could have waited to feed me.”

“Teacher, I would not want you to wait on me for lunch,” Estelar said. “You go ahead and eat. I just wanted to introduce you to Gunag and Shelara.”

“So you are the pair that have created so much noise here at the estate. Welcome. I am Mazie Hillwater, formerly of the Republc, though this has been my home for a very long time.”

“We are glad to meet you, Mazie,” Gunag said. “I could see your hand here at the estate when I arrived. You have done well here.”

“Yes I have, with sometimes indifferent students, like this one here. He turned out well, so I can’t complain. Estelar, what happened to those books you said were coming?”

“They were taken by pirates,” Gunag said. “That was what they wanted from the cargo.”

Mazie laughed. “If they wanted them so much, then they are welcome to them.”

“My cousin has already sent replacements. I imagine that my mother will send more when the book faire in Chatsrey comes around.”

“If I sent her a list of things that I miss, could she look and see what can be found?”

“Make up the list and I will send it to her with dispatch.”

“Wonderful. There have been things I wanted to share and haven’t been able to. Now I can in my last days.”

House Aravaris

Harald grinned as Gunag came into his office. “Did the trip go well?”

“Yes it did, and the estate has my car and the GP. I kept the keys to my car, so the boys won’t drive it. I don’t want them street racing with some of the Qinvaris boys and wrecking it.”

“You did something to it.”

“I found a Tiger sports car like the ones that Richard Harper likes in a wrecking yard, pulled the engine and some other parts and dropped them into my old Tiger Six. The car impressed some people when it was done.”

“Anything to report?”

“Somebody set emancipators on Shelara and me. We think it was Ayre Eiljeon, since we were unlucky and he was at his brother’s plant when we arrived. He went after Shelara and probably wanted to make some pain for us. I’m going to have to be careful if Shelara and I go to Fayspire again.”

“What about the devise?”

“Jorge and Py expedited the unloading so we had it on the road and moving very fast with the rest of the shipment. I kept an eye on it on the way to the estate and we didn’t have any problems.”

“Good. Write a report on your journey.”

“I have a lot of pictures and maps. I thought that the Residency could use the trip for interested travelers.”

“We can indeed. So get started. I have another little task for you.”

“What is it?”

“I want you and Shelara to start to look for a House up here in the Cloud City or a place in the Lower City for a permanent embassy.”

“Why me?”

“Derry is going to be working with you on this. But his relatives are not as close as yours, so he won’t have the social connections that you do. So I am giving you the task.”

“I guess that I am going to be looking for a house, then.”

“Another reason is that the high lords will be expecting you to do just that and won’t see it as the Republic moving in on them. That has been a problem since I arrived.”

“I can see that it could be a problem. Then it’s up to me.”

“I think that you will enjoy it. Shelara and you will probably want a place of your own fairly soon in any case.”

“I think that Derry does as well.”

“Yes. There isn’t a rush, so be discreet about why you are looking.”     

Leave a comment