Job Stuff 73

This is more or less a newsletter for job seekers like myself.  I try to find good job search strategies, bad job search strategies, pure BS and job related articles every week.  So far I’ve never run short.  Please pass this around. I’m not doing this for any reason other than the desire to help and communicate with other job seekers.  If you have any good links or stories, especially stories please comment.  If you want the story private, just put that in the comment and I will trash it and  not let it post.

What is the cost to the economy of all those unfilled job openings?

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/whats-value-americas-unfilled-jobs-andrew-chamberlain


Who knows it, it might work?

http://www.bizjournals.com/houston/news/2016/05/06/sign-of-the-times-laid-off-o-g-engineer-tries.html?ana=twt#i1


Lis strikes a nerve with the salary question, again.

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/recruiters-dont-need-your-salary-history-heres-why-want-liz-ryan

Best comment:

I read through about half of the comments, until I started to see a lot of repetition. This post piqued my interest because three times in the past month I’ve been contacted by “recruiters” asking for my current salary. No job description, no response to my request for specifics. Talk about a waste of everyone’s time. It does appear that the comments generally break up into three camps:

Category 1-Candidates seem to agree and are tired of getting rejected or lowballed after they disclose their salary history. No candidates in the “I was pleasantly surprised by the nice raise after I disclosed” category, as indicated by many Category 2 (below) recruiters.

Category 2- Recruiters (paid by the employer) who insist it’s necessary to know your current salary. Quite a few suggesting that no one is entitled to a big salary increase. This is a recipe for moving on next year. Many in this category saying they will not work with me if I don’t disclose my current salary up front. That’s OK with me, I also have to filter recruiters and I am not interested in working with you. Employment is a business transaction, and those in this category are unlikely to represent me well. In my view the reasoning provided by these people is a fig leaf to cover the fact that many companies want to get the best talent for the lowest possible price. So be it, game on. It’s a dynamic market and salaries are all over the map. Many in this category do not appear to understand the difference between salary history and salary expectations.

Category 3-Practical, experienced recruiters (and some candidates) who seem to understand my perspective. I offer high quality service for a reasonable, competitive price. I’m happy to work with recruiters who will clearly state the salary range and duties for positions they are trying to fill. My acceptance of the salary range indicates my expectations, and the people I want to work with will understand that. Recruiters in category 3 are welcome to read my profile and contact me with positions of interest. Category 4-Employers who universally want salary history. Totally understandable. It’s a very easy way to get the upper hand in negotiations. I do question the logic of specifically seeking out people with poor negotiating skills. My evaluation of the recruiting industry as a whole will be based in part on contacts resulting from this post. I am looking for work and could bring a nice commission for the right professional recruiter. Comments/responses in this thread, if any, will be interesting as well.


Liz on those computer interviews.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/lizryan/2017/02/08/a-new-recruiting-abomination-one-way-video-interviews/#2ef5d78834ac



Things that you probably don’t want to put on your resume.

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/7-things-put-your-resume-2-statements-you-may-want-avoid-rick-gillis?trk=v-feed&lipi=urn%3Ali%3Apage%3Ad_flagship3_feed%3BooX6HcN4NQQz%2F4f3upbcCQ%3D%3D

More:
https://jobmob.co.il/blog/funniest-resume-mistakes/


The job Search Category:
https://theartsmechanical.wordpress.com/category/job-search/

Leave a Reply

