The Wind Rises

Another post from the past. My review of Miyazaki’s, “The Wind Rises.” If you haven’t seen it, stream or get the Blue Ray. If you are an engineer, or technically inclined then definitely watch it as soon as possible. A truly inspiring movie.

The Arts Mechanical

In my less than humble opinion Hayao Miyazaki’s “The Wind Rises” is the best engineering movie ever made. I will admit to a certain degree Of bias in this. I have been a Studio Ghibli fan since I saw Kiki’s Delivery Service in the raw Japanese at a convention back in the early 1990’s. I bought the first Disney release of Kiki’s when it came out and ever movie since. I have copies of every Miyazaki movie and have seen even the stuff that was never officially released here in the US. I’ve been to the Ghibli museum, twice. I have all the art books for the Miyazaki movies. So I think that Miyazaki is one of the greatest film makers of all time. But I’m certainly not the only one in the world with that opinion.
Miyazaki’s reputation and my fan slobbering not withstanding, “The Wind Rise stands on…

View original post 540 more words

Leave a Reply

