Building Stuff

There’s nothing like building something for yourself.  A while back, the tested website(tested.com) had a contest with a week working with Adam Savage as the prize.  I built the toolboxes as my entry.  It was also a chance to develop my sheet metal fabrication skills and create custom toolboxes that  I can use to cart tools around work and have them available.  It worked out well even though I didn’t win.

Part 1:

Part 2:

The caddies are use to hold the tools so that I can have what Adam calls first order retrieval.  That way each tool has a place in the box and I don’t have to waste time digging for a tool.  I’m still working on sorting this out and deciding what tools go in the boxes.  I’m thinking that I may need to make a third box for soldering and electronics tools.  I’m also going to make scissors carts for the boxes.  Here’s Adam’s boxes at Tested.com:
http://www.tested.com/art/makers/449273-origin-my-model-making-toolboxes/

http://www.tested.com/art/makers/449298-whats-adams-toolbox-circa-ilm-model-making-days/

This was a fun project and a good way to organize my tools to make myself more productive at fabrication.

Leave a Reply

