My First Blog Post

This is my first blog and blog post. A little about me. I am a Senior Mechanical Engineer deeply interested in all sorts of technologies and how technologies relate to human life. I take sort of different outlook than most people because I believe that technologies are not autonomous and cannot be separated from the scope of human life.
Technologies are tools and the whole reason for a technology to exist it that it makes people’s lives better. I feel that there is too much emphasis on being afraid of technologies stemming mostly from the fact that people don’t want to understand a technology and why it does what it does. It’s easy to be afraid of, say, a nuclear power plant if you do not understand how it works. But we shouldn’t live based on our fears.
I’m also going to post about stuff I think doesn’t work. Some will be technologies and much will be discussions of economics, political and social, with links.
Expect to see a lot of demonstrations of that here, along with pictures, videos I shoot and some Japanese stuff.

2 comments

  1. Michael Messina · February 20, 2015

    I am a plastic injection mold maker and molder. I have had a small shop in Watsonville Ca. for 25 years. I like working with inventors and start ups, I can usually beat anyone (even China) on prices and especially turnaround. I would like my presence to be known to people that could use my services. I could be of great help to a lot of people it they know I’m around, I’m just not sure how to go about it.
    Any suggestions?
    We do, Solidworks, prototoypes (machined), mold making, parts molding and some 2nd opp’s.
    My website is dmi-versamold.com
    I’m Mike, if you want any more information email @ mike@dmi-versamold.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • jccarlton · February 20, 2015

      I’m not going to pretend to be an expert on this. It seems to me that the important thing is communication. Commenting here and other blogs like this is a start. I started this because I felt that people didn’t seem to know that shops like yours were out there and go charging off to China without even exploring the alternatives.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

